HUANG ZAN-LUN Collection of Settings

Author: 

HUANG ZAN- LUN

Translator: 

Rye Lin Ting-Ru

Photographer: 

劉薳粲等

Book design: 

陳昭淵

Distributor: 

獨立書店通路/友善書業

Publisher: 

Publishing Date: 

2020-05-22

ISBN: 

9789869873802

Format : 

hardcover252P297*210 (MM)中英文雙語

Category: 

Price: 

1500

A Few Notes about Huang Zan-Lun

Text / Chen Kuang-Yi
Doctor of Philosophy, Ecole nationale supérieure des Beaux-arts de Paris

Huang Zan-Lun has turned to collect abandoned computers, and he created his works by the circuit boards retrieved in them. His iGod and Arena series resemble the “future remains” at the end of the world, while the giant palanquin moving like robots looks down regally on everything – but it somehow appears to be more like a dinosaur or a magnificent spaceship flying out from movies. As for Eternal Flames, they can’t resemble ghosts in funerals more! Moving on from synthesised monsters, Huang’s putting all these fairly different works together in the same exhibition venue may surprise us; however, the venue radiated, and was haunted by, the topics all his works refer to – the incapability to tell fiction from reality, the irresistible fiction, and the fear for the absolutely real yet only imaginable thing – death.

 

The Road to the Hell: Huang Zan-Lun and His “Future Relics”

Text/ Pai Shih-Ming
Ph.D. in Art History at Kyoto University, Japan

The contemporary art world criticises and implies the disasters brought about by industrialised civilisation through the use of mechanical devices employed as the mimicry and simulacrum of the environment, the ecological system and the future. This form of art has created a post-human-parable kind of expression, pointing out absurdity, vanity and destruction behind the myth of “the utopia of machines.” Among them, Taiwanese artists Huang Zan-Lun is one of the best. Over years he has created his works based on the context of post-human with a variety of approaches such as simulated materials, powered machines, assembled moulds, and imaging devices. Huang has created a world of “future relics”, consisting of man-made objects, industrial wastes, and various parts retrieved from used computers. He remains doubtful for the expanding, worldwide or even space-wide technological civilisations as well as the destruction they lead to. Through his works he attempts to examine the accompliceship hidden behind human desires.

 

Reflecting on the Status of Humans from the Aestheticism of Hybrids – Revisiting Huang Zan-Lun’s Art, His Approaches, and Strategies

Text / Chiu Chih-Yung
Ph.D. in School of Interdisciplinary Arts at Ohio University, Athens, Ohio, U.S.A

For a long time, Huang Zan-Lun’s works possess a unique quality in Taiwan’s contemporary art history. His use of “body”, “imagery of body”, “hybrid body”, and “technological body” reflect his important status in the contemporary art sector as they reveal the artist’s assumption and criticism on future society and discuss the future imagery of human bodies. For more than a decade, Huang has applied the hybrid aestheticism to create his art, depicting all kinds of strange hybrids, showcasing the robots resembling humans’ image, and sharing his deep understanding and insight into modern technology and media culture. His mixed media works are critical reflection on human society – through poetic and aesthetic expression, they connote an air of melancholy evoked by the scenes at the end of the world and warn people of nature’s power to bite back. 

 

The Real Existence Turning Back from Images – Perhaps it is a world without an origin, or a world without an end.

Text /Huang Zan-Lun

Technology is so animated. However, strikingly enough, I fail to identify the authenticity of images as the current imaging techniques are so advanced. Without the need of bulky machines, without the need of human operation, images are naturally formed through digital rendering based on the given instructions, presenting a super real scene in front of us. The monsters never showing up in real life vividly destroy tall buildings thanks to digital rendering. The robots standing for justice destroy iconic evil roles. The screen radiating light and bringing imagination more real than the reality depict all kinds of possibilities that do not exist in the current world. The fancy of the future, the rebirth of the past, both of which are fully revealed, and they create a mutual value at this moment.

Through optics and the juxtaposition of 3D images, it is easy to cheat people as we only possess limited visual experiences and can’t picture the dimensions that are not in existence. But it is also true that the audiences no longer need to wonder whether a scene is real or not despite of its absence in the physical world. I follow the screenplay and fool my own vision, so that I don’t question the authenticity of the virtual images anymore.

Nevertheless, when images disappear and the screen turned off, do we still know what just happened? The monsters and the juxtaposition of humans and robots seem to fall and disappear as the light turned off, while the characters and stories as well as the persistence of vision remain in our head, and they may be the only thing left. Ironically – if we must explore the truth – we figure that the characters perform too hard in front of the giant blue screen as if they do encounter a fierce enemy, but how about the giant monsters? And the ruined architecture? They defeat these human actors so easily even without any weights and forms.

On the contrary, when imaging technology hasn’t turned mature, all the humans, machines, imaginative monsters have no choice but to be transformed into physical objects – the puppets with humble clothing or the mechanical devices with only partial features of the characters. They live in the world in blunt and heavy forms, surrounded by sarcastic devices that trigger explosion. All the details appear to be full of flaws when examined by modern technology, and so are the primitive and clumsy realisation of the imaginative subjects. In spite of the imperfect status, the subjects activate the audiences’ imagination systems so that they can fill up the gap by themselves. The audiences picture their own reality in a way similar to the Gestalt psychology. In other words, wherever images are gone, the current screenplays always prompt me to wonder where their real coordinates are so that I can pretend that I coexist with them. It is like the monsters, the machines, and the robots are still there at certain coordinates on the world map even after the end of the story – perhaps packed in some bubble wraps covered by ashes, lying in a producer’s storage so messily as if they are trash, sometimes looking out and sometimes hidden, and waiting for some more shows featuring themselves, while that may never happen again. However, they do exist in a certain place even though they are broken and damaged now.

The former ones are based on digital hallucination with their forms epitomised as codes and packaged in mm-scaled electronic devices – a tiny, beautiful, yet dangerous world. As for the latter ones, they are bulky, immobile, and they occupy a huge space in the physical world – an accessible space. While one of the world is an unreachable utopia, another one is the remains of human imagination. Yet, both of them share the same destiny. They are dumped by the current storyline and not getting dominated by the plots any longer. In other words, when David leaves the AI story behind and is no longer David, it turns into the human-like robot again. When the Monkey Sun Wukong is no longer trapped by the storyline of The Journey to the West, he becomes the hybrid of human and money again. Therefore, I started to picture an endless world accommodating these characters. It may be a world without any origins, or a world without an end.

When a perfect prop no longer belongs to the scenes set up for it and lives in the external world on its own, will it become a new subject or an unrecognised object despite of its authentic existence in the world? 


Leaving the magnificent scenes behind and walking out from a story customised for it, the hybrid of human and machine no longer enjoys the credibility made by images or texts. Now that it loses its best stage, it no longer possesses the evidence proving how it comes to and leaves the world. The interpretation of this subject, in our mutual experience, is no longer based on the various plots or its inherited identity. Without any identity, it’s just a prop with no background story. Will this perfect puppet inspire the audiences to think deeper into its identity in the reality?

Take Frankenstein, the English author Mary Shelly’s book published in 1818, for example. If the monster wasn’t created by Frankenstein and it didn’t exist in Switzerland in 1880s, people would have no clues about his origin. It would just be there in front of us. In the face of such a huge creature, a strange puppet, I must activate more imaginative systems to justify its identity and coexist with it. Is it someone who has experienced critical events, so he must transform himself into other thing in order to survive? Is it a product of the advanced technology, and it was created for serving human-beings? Based on such fancies, my focus turns to hybrids and AI again and again.

However, in such a world fundamentally led by science, what will be created in the future or what has been created in an unknown field seems to speed up their own development and catch the prophecy made by images and texts. Nowadays, one single year of research and development equals to fifty years of research in the past. Replicating a creature is no longer a sci-fi story, and AI continues to develop in the current world as well.

Dolly the cloned sheep was born in 2001. After a decade, this is no longer a horrifying story. In 2006, British scientists successfully created a hybrid cell mixing more than two genes and transferred human organs onto another animal’s body – they made a healthy lab mouse carry a human ear to live its life. AI is no longer a high-tech fantasy. The robot Asimo, developed by Japanese team during 2008 to 2012, is now commoditised and walked into people’s daily life.

Today, these kinds of news are no longer strange or rare. Mythology seems to be reasonable as well. The future technology is only one step away from us. Therefore, I found my ground focusing on hybrids and robots, initialising a series of procedures to create the human-like machines with no background stories and scenic stages.

Maybe the perfect human is just a puppet without a soul.

 Mamoru Oshii

黃贊倫設定集

作者: 

黃贊倫

譯者: 

Rye Lin Ting-Ru

出版社: 

出版日期: 

2020-05-22

ISBN: 

9789869873802

規格 : 

精裝252P297*210 (MM)

分類: 

定價: 

1500

內容簡介

「我曾用了十年時間,逼迫自己去承認『我是個藝術家』。十年過去了,如今覺得其實『我只是個藝術家』,也沒什麼好大不了,這樣蠻好的。」——黃贊倫自述。

平時我們認識藝術家,似乎只在乎嚴肅的論述,忽略了他平日的思考,以及階段性的領悟。原來創作是一件令人懊惱又掏心的事?原來不斷挖掘自身並把自己放入世界比照會多麽令人恐懼又目眩神迷?《黃贊倫設定集》不只是一本有關藝術家與其作品的書,而是一本黃贊倫的歷練濃縮集,更是一件黃贊倫的新作。

那些沒有看書就不知道的事:

  • 有血有肉有怨嘆——黃贊倫的創作(成長)小日記。
  • 作品怎麼來?——精美草稿、創作過程側寫、作品沙龍照、更多更多精美草稿。
  • 藝術家到底怎麼想?——黃贊論創作論述精要大全,一字一句告訴你!
  • 專業人士怎麼看?——各路名筆評論與分析!
  • 與合作夥伴、主編大大的私下會談——有料也有笑料,不同議題輕鬆聊聊~

 

作者簡介

1979年出生於臺灣宜蘭,現工作生活於宜蘭與臺北。國立臺灣藝術大學美術學系學士、國立臺北藝術大學美術創作碩士。曾於台北當代藝術館、關渡美術館、台北國際藝術村等舉行多次個展,並獲邀參與如德國維特拉設計博物館五年國際巡迴展、義大利阿索洛國際藝術影展等國際大展。創作聚焦於透過生物與機械合體/混種的議題,展開自我認知與外在環境的多重辯證。

 

專文評論

國立臺灣藝術大學美術學院院長 陳貺怡:

「黃贊倫近來轉向收集廢棄電腦,並拆下電路板作為創作材料。他的〈地方〉系列和〈競技場〉頗類似某種對人類終局之「未來廢墟」的想像;而現場像機器人般會動的巨大神轎,君臨一切,但不知為什麼更像是一隻恐龍,或一艘從電影中飛出來的華麗宇宙戰艦。至於〈不滅〉,不能再更像靈堂裡的鬼魅了!黃贊倫離開合成怪物後,拉裡拉雜的將這些調性頗有差異的作品放在同一個展場裡,可能會有點令人詫異,但其實整場瀰漫著,也貫穿著它所有創作的回返主題:對虛擬與真實的無力區分,對虛擬的無法抗拒,以及對絕對真實但卻只能想像的死亡之恐懼。」

國立臺灣師範大學臺灣藝術史研究中心主任 白適銘:

「在當代藝術中,以機械裝置作為對環境、生態或人類未來進行擬態、擬像的工具,進而隱喻、批判工業文明所帶來的災難,已建立一種「後人類寓言」式之表現手法,突顯「機械烏托邦」神話背後的荒誕、虛無與毀滅。台灣藝術家黃贊倫可謂其中的佼佼者,多年來以此種後人類處境作為創作議題,藉由仿真材質、動力機械、模具拼組以及數位影像裝置等不同手法,建立出一種由人造物件、工業廢料及電腦殘骸等所組成的「未來遺跡」世界。對於全球規模甚或是太空世紀布局下不斷擴張的科技文明及其破壞,拋出諸多質疑,藉以檢視人類慾望背後所隱藏的共犯關係。」

國立清華大學藝術中心主任 邱誌勇:

「長期以來,黃贊倫的創作在台灣當代藝術歷史脈絡中有著獨特的性格,其以「身體」、「身體意象」、「混種身體」與「科技身體」作為命題的創作反映出他在當代藝術領域的重要性與時代性,其目的是在於彰顯藝術家對於未來社會的擬想與批判力,以及討論未來的身體形象是什麼?透過黃贊倫的混種美學創作策略。十餘年來的系列創作,描繪出各種詭異樣貌的雜交體、展現人類軀體形貌的機器人概念,並傳達自我解讀現代科技生活與媒體文明的深刻認知與見解。其跨媒材的系列作品不僅揭示批判性的人文反思,更透過詩意化的美學景緻,隱含對末世情景的憂傷與警世自然反噬的巨大力量。」

 

目錄

  • 造物
  • 造人
  • 造神

 

內容試閱

背離影像的實存-那或許將是一個沒有起源的世界,但也可能是沒有終結的世界

科技是如此騷動活靈活現,而我自己是如此驚人的無法辨識現今的影像工業已發展至成熟擬像,不再需要笨拙的機具,也不再需要親受性的人為操作,它早已依循這數據指令的形構,與電腦動畫的合成,展現出以假亂真的表象。不曾出現在現實生活裡逼真的怪獸,可以依照電腦指令摧毀大樓。主持正義的機械人,可以代表一方的信仰摧毀指涉性的霸權。在這發光的銀幕裡,想像超越了真實,陳述著不存在我們現今生活狀態的任何可能。而去對於未來的發想、對於過去的再生,已無所遁形而創造出一個共同的價值。

而透過光學與錯置的3D技術仿似高度的騙術一般,輕易的矇騙過我們有限的視覺經驗裡所能辨視的表象,勾勒出不曾存在的空間向度。而觀者不再需要對於固有實體的不足,想像若是真實的可能性。我依著劇本的走向,讓視覺上選擇相信,不再對虛構的影像有所懷疑。

然而當影像離去後、銀幕電源關閉時,方才發生什麼事?怪獸的存在、人機的相對位置,似乎隨著這一抹消失的光芒,漆黑、殞落,留下只是腦海裡角色在劇本中所發生的故事,與視覺暫留對於方才光線刺激後的殘影。諷刺的是,若硬要去找尋究竟,會發現這些演員們,站在巨大的藍幕前對著空氣過招,精湛的演技彷彿如臨大敵。然而巨大怪獸呢?被摧毀的建築呢?可以如此不具任何重量與形體的擊垮這些真實肉身的演員。

反之影像科技還未成熟時,所有的人機、所有想像出來的怪獸,都必須被化為實體,變成粗劣的人穿偶,或是只能擷取局部特徵的機械裝置。笨拙沉重的存在著,建構出來的場景埋滿戲謔性的引爆裝置。一切的呈現在現今的科技範疇裡破綻百出,對於想像的建構也顯得如此的原始以及沉重。然而在這種不盡逼真的狀態下,卻讓觀者啟動了自身的想像機制,去填補失真的裂縫。以一種完型心理學的立場繪製出自己的真實。換言之,每當影像離去時,既有的劇本總是觸動我對於他們實際存在的座標,進行某種同在的幻想。彷彿這怪獸、這機具、這機器人,在故事結束後依然存在於這世界經緯度的某個點上,在某一個製片廠的倉庫,有如垃圾般雜亂的堆放著,裹著佈滿塵埃的氣泡布,隱約的露出若隱若現的眼神、等待著。或許再也沒有它的戲碼,但卻依舊存在某個真實的時空,或許破舊不堪終究過往曾經。

前者賴科技幻象而存在,一切的形體濃縮成為人工記憶的編碼,封印在以毫米的計算的電子原件。如此小而美、小而危險的世界;後者顯得體積沉重、行動不易、耗費著龐大的實體資源與空間,座落在某一個可觸及的時空。一個是可見卻到達不了的烏托邦,而另一個是為了成就對這世界想像的殘骸。但似乎卻共享著一個共同的命運,就是都成為被既有劇本所棄守的傀儡,也不再被任何情節所支配。換言之,David離開了AI人工智慧的故事,當不再是David時,而回到仿生機器人本身;齊天大聖若離開西遊記的情節,或許就回到了人猴混種的純粹形象。如此一來便促使我對於這些不帶劇本、不被支配的混種形象,產生沒有邊界的想像延伸,那或許將是一個沒有起源的世界,但也可能是沒有終結的世界。

當一具完美的道具,背離了本來既有的場景設定,而獨立存在於現有的時空之中,是否將重新構成一個主體的想像?或是一個無法被認同的實際存在?脫離了一個絢麗的場景,走出了一場為它量身打造的故事敘述,對於眼前所形構成的人機,或混種生物的樣貌,將不再有影像的或文字的描述所背書,不再有絕佳的場域讓它歸屬,那麼它如何來、如何去,就不再有任何有利的證據。存在於共同的經驗中,對於它的解讀,不再有林林種種的情節得以依據,也不是習性所象徵的身分,如此一來在沒有任何身份的同時,這一個沒有背景的道具、這一具完美的人偶,是否將在一個現實的場域裡,與觀者之間產生出更多的想像空間。

英國作家瑪麗雪萊在1818年的著作《科學怪人》一書裡,這個怪人若不是Frankenstein的傑作,它不存在於1880年代的瑞士,怪人的由來不被人所知的同時,它就這麼的出現在我眼前。面對如此龐大的身軀、形貌奇特的人偶,或許我就必須開啟更多對它的想像,才能進行身分的認同,才有辦法合理的共同存在同一個時空-它是否是一個經歷過重大事故的人,為了活下去必須自我改造⋯⋯?抑或是一個未來高科技下的產物,被造就出來服務於人類⋯⋯?-就因諸如此類的想像,一再牽引我對混種與人工智慧的關注。

然而在這科學高度前行的環境裡,對於可能會出現什麼,或是在未知的領域有什麼已被生成,彷彿已不斷地在加速追趕著影像或文字的預言。如今科技的發展一年相當於過去的五十年,複製生物已不再是科幻情節,人工智能也高度的在現實環境不斷地被開發中。2001年複製羊桃莉首度活生生的問世,在不到十年的功夫,這已不再是什麼駭人的聽聞;2006年英國科學家已成功地將兩種以上的基因相互組合成混種細胞,並讓人體的器官寄宿在其他動物身上。一隻健康的實驗鼠就這麼的承載著人類的耳朵而被畜養著。人工智能再也不是高科技的幻想曲,日本所研發的人機Asimo,在2008至2012年的開發後,已開始量產走入人類的生活中。

如今這些實存化的新聞已不足為奇,神話故事將變得如此的合理,未來科技似乎就近在咫尺,而這也觸動我在混種生物與人機裡想像的絕佳立場,並開始一連串的創作執行,造就出一個個不帶情節亦沒有故事場景的仿生形體。

完美的人型,或許就是一個不具靈魂的傀儡。
—押井守